Creative Pictou County is thrilled to announce that we have partnered with Destination Eastern and Northern Shore (DEANS) to give a Community Impact award to a local artist at the 2024 Buoy Awards. 

The Community Impact Award will recognize a Pictou County artist who has enriched the lives of their fellow community members through their practice, programming or volunteer activities as it relates to arts and culture. 

The DEANS Buoy Awards celebrate tourism excellence found on the northern and eastern shores of the province. Tourism and the arts and culture sector go hand in hand, encouraging visitors to explore the county and making it an exciting place to live by promoting and celebrating artists. 

The artist who wins the 2024 Creative Pictou County Community Impact award will also receive a one year membership to Creative Pictou County. 

Nominators must complete an official nomination with the following:

  1. A nomination letter (no more than 500 words) demonstrating how the nominee has supported arts and culture in Pictou County. Please include an outline of their artist practice.
  2. Pertinent links to artists website, articles regarding their community impact endeavours etc.
  3. If self-nominating, the artist must provide up to three letters of support.

Nominations can be made by residents of Pictou County or the artist themselves.

Selection Process

Nominees are assessed and a recipient is selected by a jury comprised of Creative Pictou County staff, board members and two partnership organizations. 

The jury will evaluate based on the following criteria:

  • How does the artist used their practice to have a positive impact on the community
  • How have they continued to cultivate relationships with other organizations across the community
  • How do they have a vision for the future in relation to their continued community impact

The jury is not able to nominate themselves or other candidates. 

Please send completed nominations by 4pm on Friday March 1 to with the subject line “Community Impact Award Nomination”

Nominations are now closed.

The winner of the 2024 Community Impact Award is Carolyn Vienneau